Relying on Christ’s Strength

“We are not necessarily doubting that God will do the best for us; we are wondering how painful God’s best may be for us” C.S. Lewis

“Jesus asks nothing of us without giving us the strength to perform it.” Dietrich Bonhoeffer

I can’t believe I am already in my third week at Rock Ministries. Part of me feels like I got here yesterday while the other part can’t believe the unconquerable ten weeks is already whittled down to seven. 

Things are finally starting to get busy! And for that I am very thankful. Yesterday, the creative arts team had our first performances of singing, dancing, and puppets. We performed at Macdonald’s and on the lawn of a hotel off of I-Drive. For those of you who have never dealt with puppets, its hard word, y’all!

As much as I was not looking forward to all of that, at the end of the day I am a performer at heart and I love to be in front of an audience glorifying God while making people laugh, smile, ooh and ahh. The performances went very well and will continue to get better as the summer progresses! I am not sure why God wanted me here at this time and place so much, but he always wants and achieves the best for me and his glory. Even when I think, it’s too painful and hard. The process of getting me here at this specific time and place started at the very least three years. That is why it is so important for me simply to be faithful and follow him without question. Everyday, I have to pray to Jesus to give me the strength to perform the duties he has called me to do because I CANNOT DO IT ALONE. 

Kids Club this week have been great. Thursday, my partner, Carley, and I gave a Bible to a girl from Liverpool, England who had never heard of the Bible or God. Y’all, that broke my heart but she is heading back with a little seed of God’s love that could grow into anything at all! In addition to that, I also met a Chinese lady from Boston with an adorable three year old who was thrilled to learn that we were summer missionaries there to share God’s love and I met a little girl from Venezuela who could not speak any English but enjoyed doing the craft with us. On the back of the craft I wrote “Jesus Loves You.”  When her mom read it, she indicated that she loves Jesus as well. It is so encouraging to meet people who love Jesus and are excited we are there! 

Prayer requests: the health of the team again, specifically myself, and the wisdom to follow Christ wholeheartedly even when his best is painful

Leave a Reply

