A Letter to My Graduating Friends

 

Let me preface this by saying that I am a sentimental fool.

Graduations are one of those bittersweet moments in life. On the one hand, finishing a chapter in your life is super exciting! You’ve made it through to the next phase which is, let’s face it, pretty awesome. But then you reflect on all those exciting changes coming in your life and realize that life has handed you a double edged sword.

You aren’t simply starting a new chapter. You are simultaneously saying goodbye to the last chapter and all the places and people that made it special. It’s an experience comparable to staring at the ocean: both beautiful and terrifying in its sheer power.

I am not graduating and moving on for at least another year but some of my very dear friends are and this is dedicated to them.

As you enter the new stage of your life here are some quotes I have for you:

“Let no one ever come to you without leaving better and happier. Be the living expression of God’s kindness: kindness in your face, kindness in your eyes, kindness in your smile.” Mother Teresa.

In the theme of sappiness, thank you for the time I spent with you. I am indeed better and happier.

“Whatever you are, be a good.” Abraham Lincoln

Please, be the best elementary teacher, physician’s assistant, pr person, nurse, doctor, whatever that is out there. Shine and show your passion in the way that made me love you.

“People of accomplishment rarely sat back and let things happen to them. They went out and happened to things.” Leonardo Divinci

This one is self explanatory but don’t limit yourself. Reach for the stars, the moon, or the top of the Empire State Building. Just reach and try.

Last, “Never hold onto anything tighter than you’re holding onto God.”

I hope you learned from me that there is a quote for everything and hats are always a good choice! I love you and will miss you! Congrats on graduating!

 

Leave a Reply

