Star Gazers and Rainbow Seekers

Van Gogh once said, “For my part I know nothing with any certainty but the sight of the stars makes me dream.”

Most people are rainbow seekers.
They get so excited in the midst of a rainy day when they get to see the sky painted brilliantly in a one small, crescent-shaped area. I love rainbows. They are beautiful and wonderful and a statement of God’s love and protection. But I am not a rainbow seeker. God does not put rainbows in the sky to woo me. Maybe that’s weird. I mean, first it’s not like the whole sky revolves around me. Second, who doesn’t fall in love with rainbows?
Jackie Giles. That’s who.
You know what does makes me swoon and weak in the knees thinking “God, you are so amazing!”? The night sky. A full moon. Pinholes of light sneaking through the so dark blue it’s almost black of the night sky.
I hate cold weather to the point that I nearly cry BUT you know what I love about winter? The sky and the stars at night are never more clear and beautiful.
Do you remember how you felt when you first fell in love? Everything in the world makes sense and you find yourself sighing with happiness in the middle of the day? That’s how a full moon makes me feel. I look up at the glorious light shining down and I know that God loves me and wants me to be wholly his.
Last night, on what I had already deemed the first official day of senior year (I’m back in Starkville- but school hasn’t started yet), I saw two shooting stars. And maybe it’s superstitious and conceited of me, but I felt like it was God’s present for me. It was God saying, “Everything may not always be ok but I am here for you and I adore you.”
So here’s to my senior year. Everything will not go as planned. I will struggle and potentially feel like a failure but through all the ups and downs, God will be there saying, “My child, look up and gaze at my glory. I made this and I am making you into something even more spectacular.”
Because that’s the thing about God. His creation is GLORIOUS and we are his ultimate creations. Be you a rainbow seeker or a star gazer, Christ died on the cross to save you and wants you to be apart of his family. Know this: you are not perfect and that’s ok. Christians aren’t hypocrites when we mess up. We are real human beings, struggling to become more like Christ every day but we try.
For weeks, I’ve been wanting to write something to preface my senior year or something that was “15 things to do or not do your first year of college.” While that would have probably garnered a larger response, it wouldn’t have been true to me. I had to wait til I saw the shooting stars to be able to write this. And really that feels like a metaphor for life. You can’t skip steps. I have to do everything I will go through this upcoming year in order to be ready for my career or whatever I do afterwards. Maybe life is like a jenga tower. Take one stick out and the whole thing might topple over. I know this for sure: everything I have done and experienced has made me who I am.

I have loved the stars too fondly to be fearful of the night. Galileo

For me, the future is like the night sky. Dark, vast and unknown. But the moon and the stars will be the light to guide me safely home.

Are you a rainbow seeker or star gazer?

20140814-231804-83884353.jpg

One thought on “Star Gazers and Rainbow Seekers

Leave a Reply

