An Unpopular Confession: Why I don’t worship Marilyn Monroe

I love old Hollywood glamour.

A picture of Cary Grant looking attractive

Hello Gorgeous

Cary Grant is a dreamboat and I’ve loved him since I was probably 7 or 8 watching An Affair to Remember, Thanks, Mama for the introduction!

Doris Day and Rock Hudson look lovingly into each other's eye on the beach from the movie "Lover Come Back"

Doris Day and Rock Hudson had the best on screen chemistry!

Doris Day and Rock Hudson are adorable in every film they are in and Doris Day’s character in Lover Come Back is one of the reasons I considered and chose to major in public relations!

I could go on and on about how much I love old movies and old actors and actresses. I fell in love with Fred Astaire in Swing Time, Gene Kelly in Singing in the Rain, Frank Sinatra anytime he sings. I want to be Lauren Bacall as Schatze Page in How to Marry a Millionaire, Grace Kelley was classy, beautiful, a great actress, and a literal princess.

Audrey Hepburn

The Fairest of Them All

But let’s not forget the greatest of them all, Audrey Hepburn. If you can find someone who loves Audrey more than I do (and by love I mean has seen more than just Breakfast at Tiffany’s and understands that she was also a huge humanitarian) send them my way so we can fangirl together.

There are so many people famous in the 30s, 40s, and 50s who I absolutely adore that I could go on forever and should probably write a seperate post about my favorite leading men and ladies or favorite movies from before 1980s sometime (if you’d read that, tell me!) but that’s not what I am saying here.

So many girls idolize, obsess over, and quote Marilyn Monroe. I can’t. I refuse to worship her.

She was a beautiful lady and I am so sorry about her rough life that led to her suicide. It is heartbreaking; I wish I could go back in time and hug her and save her from the bad people but I can’t.

So while I feel great pity for her life, I do not go around quoting her and I don’t buy things with her image on them.

Audrey Hepburn played roles that varied and had character and grew. Side note, she was a hipster 50 years from before it was cool in Funny Face. Katherine Hepburn plays strong, dynamic women who are in charge of their own destiny. Marilyn Monroe played promiscuous, dumb blondes who was on the prowl for wealthy men.

She is not a role model. I repeat, Marilyn Monroe is not a role model.

If you want a beautiful actress from Old Hollywood to adorn your walls with, buy some Grace Kelly merchandise. If you want to quote a gorgeous actress from the glamour days, look up the words of wisdom from Audrey Hepburn (or ask me). If you want a tenacious role model from then, look at Katherine Hepburn or Lauren Bacall.

Y’all, I’m a passionate person. I am passionate about dumb things sometimes. I care way too much about grammar and how Coke always beats Pepsi and Sprite is a million times better than Sierra Mist. On this issue, however, I don’t think I’m being silly. I look up to strong women who have made things better for me. I read a biography about Susan B. Anthony when I was 10. It’s possible that not all the women I endorsed made things better for me. I don’t know a ton about Lauren Bacall or Katherine Hepburn but I do know that neither of them played roles that objectified. The studio system was really intense and crazy back in the day and actors didn’t have the freedom to pick and choose as they do now, so it may not have been Marilyn Monroe’s fault that she played parts that objectified her. Nonetheless, she didn’t contribute to making Hollywood view women as people rather than sex objects. Honestly, I view her life as more of a sad “what not to do” than a life to be admired. Please, watch one of the movies I listed or research some of the ladies and find a more worthy rolemodel!

Agree? Disagree? Let me know!

To leave you on a positive note, go fall in love with Ole Blue Eyes gem of a voice, here

2 thoughts on “An Unpopular Confession: Why I don’t worship Marilyn Monroe

  1. Pingback: The Beginner’s Guide to Audrey Hepburn Movies | Jackie Giles

  2. Pingback: The Beginner’s Guide to Audrey Hepburn Movie’s | thequotesdiary

Leave a Reply

