How to Survive Valentine’s Day with Grace

Valentine’s day. Probably the most controversial and divided holiday. For couples, it’s a wonderful chance to just dwell in each other’s love and be adored. For singles, it can be a sad reminder of the fact that no one special person constantly cherishes and adores them. Or it can be a day engage in love – no matter the type of relationship.

There is no special guy who cherishes me right now and there may never be. But that’s okay. Because I have a loving group of friends who care for and show me love anyway they can. I have a mom who is my biggest and manages to have high hopes for me without pressuring me to be or do anything I don’t want. I am so grateful I have a father who showed me how a man should love a woman and support her no matter the circumstances. He has told me he loves and that I am beautiful for as long as I can remember. I have two sisters who are my best friends in the whole world and get me better than anyone else.

So yes, Valentine’s day is about love, but it’s not strictly about romantic love.

To the Couples
If you’re in a relationship, take the time to show your love for someone who’s single. But promise me this: don’t do it in a condescending, “I was worried about you because you don’t have anyone to love you like I do” way. People in relationships, I love you but it is so easy for some of you to get wrapped up in a love bubble and forget that it’s possible to live without romantic love. Don’t forget to spend some of the time adoring your creator as well.

To the Singles
Dear one, don’t dwell on the sad parts. You are beautiful and precious and unique. Don’t ever tell yourself something is wrong with you because you’re single. You are completely lovable and love worthy. I can’t make your day better but you can. Instead of saying, “woe is me,” look for someone else to love on. Maybe it’s a friend who’s struggling more than you are and needs someone to remind them that they are wonderful. Maybe it’s a stranger you know nothing about. But I challenge you to dig down deep in your heart and take a handful of you to bless someone with. Show love. Show love hard.

Last, love and adored your creator and savior. The one who loved you so much he endured excruciating mental and physical pain so that you might go free. Someone does cherish and adore you, thank him and love him back.

Leave a Reply

