For Such a Time as This: 21st Century Edition

To preface, I wrote this aimed at bloggers. However at the end, I realized that these issues also apply to the people who sit in the pews, discontent with the state of the church and either do nothing or, worse, complain. It’s time for the Church to be doers of the Word and not merely seers.

I have a bone to pick. I am so sick and tired of blogs about how the Church is doing this or that wrong and they need to change and step up their game.

To clarify, I am not saying that the Church is without fault or even that some of the issues brought aren’t completely valid issues that need to be addressed. Additionally, it’s completely possible that some of the bloggers are called by God to be catalysts by using their words. But I feel like words can also easily turn into a copout.

I have at times been distraught with the current state of the church and unable to reconcile this issue in my heart. My (albeit horrible) decision has been to not go as much because I felt hypocritical to go somewhere I saw flaws in. However, as I’ve grown up, matured, and become a bit wiser, I’ve realized the futility in avoiding church because I was not happy with some of it’s practices.

In my opinion, all these call to action type posts are doing the same thing. The authors of these posts are aware of an inadequacy in the church. Since the church is full of people, we are constantly facing mistakes and flaws and scandals. That’s just how it is. However, I wonder if maybe God is showing these authors the inadequacy in the church for a different reason than writing about it. If you see an issue that needs addressing, don’t address it to the internet. Go to the leadership at your church and say, “Hey, this isn’t right. We need to change this.” Pray about it. Find out if others agree with you. If they do, get them to help you change things.

THEN write about it. Tell the world how you were dissatisfied with the way certain things weren’t glorifying God the way they should. Tell the world how things changed and whether you think it’s an improvement. Tell the world even if it’s a failure. God doesn’t call you to be successful. He calls you to be faithful. And I know that’s a cliché but it’s a cliché I couldn’t be a Christian without. A ruler who cares about your obedience more than your talents and lists of successes is so much more beautiful and accessible than one who requires you to get it right.

This makes me think about what Mordecai says to Esther when the Jewish people are in mortal danger. I’m paraphrasing here… He says, “Don’t think that if you stay silent you will escape. Deliverance will come from somewhere if not you. Maybe the reason you here at this moment is to save the Jews.”

If God shows you an issue in the church, I fully believe it is for a reason. I also believe that we have a God of action not inaction. A few years ago, my former youth minister, Joseph Bird, made the comment that the church is spiritually obese. We eat and eat God’s word but we don’t go out and do.

The irony in my post calling out those who call out others is not lost on me. However God laid it on my heart and I had to share. I apologize for any hypocrisy. I give my promise that from now on when I am discontent with issues in the church, I will try to change things rather than complaining. I challenge you to do the same.

Leave a comment